WES Graduate Selected for Cherie Blair Foundation – Mentoring Women in Business Programme

WES is excited to announce selection of the first WES graduate for the Cherie Blair Foundation Mentoring Women in Business Programme! Rana Ben Tiba from Sousse has been matched with Ilaria Russo, a Commercial Strategy Manager at BT.com. Ilaria is based in London and will mentor Rana for the next 12 months in creating her business/marketing strategy.

The Cherie Blair Foundation for Women provides women with the skills, technology, networks and access to capital that they need to become successful small and growing business owners, so that they can contribute to their economies and have a stronger voice in their societies. The Cherie Blair Foundation helps fill the gap in the economy known as the ‘missing middle’ – small and growing businesses. The women they work with have the potential to take the next step towards becoming successful entrepreneurs or are running small businesses that have already had some success but are struggling to sustain their position or expand

In 2013, IIE partnered with the Cherie Blair Foundation for Women to bring online mentorship opportunities to WES graduates through the Foundation’s Mentoring Women in Business Programme. The program links women entrepreneurs in developing and emerging countries with mentors around the world.  Using an online platform, selected mentees spend 12 months working one-on-one to achieve key business goals.  Participants build their business skills and digital literacy through trainings, and become part of a global community of committed, ambitious entrepreneurs.

Profile:  Rana Ben Tiba, WES Souse graduate

Image

Rana ben Tiba

I have always dreamed of being a business owner. Since my childhood, I was seen as an artist not only through my creations, but also through my artistic ideas and original thoughts.  Art is not only to paint or design or create, art is a passion that is within you.  Eibert Hubbard says: “Art is not a thing, it is a way.”  I believe art will be my way to fulfill my ambitions. 

Image

A sample of Rana’s products

I am a scarf-designer, a painter and designer on different materials (silk, glass, satin, organza, chiffon, wood, pottery and ceramics). I am also a pastry-cook (I make Tunisian sweets and savoury) and since I always look for the best, I am now studying in a private Fashion Design School in order to become a stylist. I have been working in the field of painting and design since 2010 and in the field of pastry since 2011; and thanks to Social networks and E-commerce I succeeded in selling many products.

Image

A sample of Rana’s products

My dream does not stop here. My dream is to launch a center which offers products and services.

 

It will be divided into 2 parts: the first part will be a showroom in which my hand-made products will be sold.

 

The second one and the most important consists of teaching:

1- Techniques of painting on different materials

2- Pastry

3-Sewing

 

I am sure that my WES and mentorship experiences will be great elements of my success.

Image

A sample of Rana’s products

I began my WES training in March 2012, and I am really pleased to be a part of this organization that helps women realising their dreams and gives them hope for a better life. In October 2013, I was selected as a mentee with the Cherie Blair Mentoring Programme and I am really excited to have this opportunity. (Many thanks to Ahmed Hamza, WES Program Coordinator, who encouraged me to submit the application.)

 

I am longing to begin this Journey with my mentor «Ilaria Russo» who will help me gain valuable advice, develop my knowledge and skills, improve my communication skills, learn new perspectives, build my network and advance my career.

 

We wish Rana the very best in her new adventure. We’ll follow Rana’s journey and share more updates as she develops new skills and connects with other women entrepreneurs.

2 thoughts on “WES Graduate Selected for Cherie Blair Foundation – Mentoring Women in Business Programme

  1. I am so excited to be apart of this programme and among you. Thank you for posting this in your blog and for sharing my experience.

Leave a Reply

